Our People

We have a small, dedicated group of individuals who work hard in the fight for digital rights. They come from a range of fields: politics, technology, academia, legal and media, lending their expertise to our advocacy, campaigns and research.

Our Board

Lizzie O'Shea

Lizzie is a human rights lawyer specialising in public interest litigation. Lizzie has local and international experience in a wide array of court jurisdictions, and is passionate about equality before the law and that the rule of law should be protected, particularly given the incursions on civil liberties that have become a staple part of the war on terror. In 2019, Lizzie received the Human Rights Hero Award for her work campaigning against Australia's encryption laws.

Tom Sulston
Deputy Chair
Tom is a software delivery consultant for Thoughtworks Australia, working on continuous delivery, devops culture, and the psychology of failure. He also helps people secure their systems and data from unethical and illegal snooping.
Lilly Ryan

Lilly is a digital security consultant and public speaker. She specialises in web application security, privacy education, and the history of technology-related issues, bringing these topics to an international audience. Lilly believes in the power of consumer and tech worker action to help the technology industry better serve the people it affects.

Mark Andrejevic
Board member
Mark is a Professor with the School of Media, Film, and Journalism at Monash University, and contributes expertise in the social and cultural implications of data mining, and online monitoring.
Lucie Krahulcova
Board member
Lucie is a professional activist and digital rights advocate. She specialises in surveillance, law enforcement powers in the digital era, export controls, encryption, data retention and telecoms regulation. Lucie previously worked in Ottawa and Brussels, and spent five years at the digital rights NGO Access Now, bringing an international dimension to our team.
Piotr Debowski
Board member
Piotr is a privacy specialist, having worked in a combination of consulting, regulatory, and in-house privacy roles. Piotr's expertise lies within the public sector but he is passionate about the intersection of privacy, technology, and private enterprise.

Our Staff

Samantha Floreani
Program Lead

Sam works at the intersection of feminism, human rights, and technology. With experience working in privacy across both the public and private sectors, and as former Program Director for Code Like a Girl, Sam is dedicated to fighting for fairness in tech - from gender equity in the tech industry, to upholding privacy in a surveillance-obsessed world.